Please subscribe to my feed.
Look at this screen shot of the Paypal website… or more precisely a fake Paypal website. How clever is the thief? The website looks exactly the same as the authentic Paypal website except the URL.

In this case the URL is so much longer and has a folder called “paypal.com” in it. Luckily Firefox is smart to sense that this is a fake or the so called phishing website and warned me just in time before I tried to sign in. If I was foolish or careless to enter my real Paypal username and password, those people who operate the phishing sites will have access to my account and all the money from my checking account and credit cards. Think about it also make me sweat!
Steve Yu
July 2nd, 2008 at 6:23 pm
Wow, you are lucky. I encounter such website before. Luckily, I didn’t fall into the trap. Nice firefox plugin what, I gonna install it.
Haris
July 2nd, 2008 at 9:21 pm
Thank God I never came across something like tha. BTW, thanks for the tip!
Atniz
July 2nd, 2008 at 11:48 pm
Fuh! Glad you are aware of it and thanks to Firefox. Is this phishing alert comes together in Firefox 3? I hope so, coz I just upgraded it.
Paypal is the most secured payment system online and it gives higher importance to the buyers (money senders) compare to the sellers.
So, even though it got hacked, you can always file a dispute and claim your money back. This is the advantage of Paypal and no other payment service providers have this option.
As a buyer I love to use Paypal. But, as a seller, I hate most to accept Paypal payments.
LOL!
Foong
July 3rd, 2008 at 1:39 am
There are actually a lot of other phishing sites that are exactly the same as the original site including online banking sites like Maybank2u and HSBC. I guess everyone has to be real careful to enter the url themselves instead of clicking on links to go to these sites.
ColourfulWorld
July 3rd, 2008 at 2:12 pm
I got conned once with my E-gold account. A big lost… After that, i always triple check the whois details before i really log into that particular website…
stratosg
July 3rd, 2008 at 3:50 pm
well phishing alert comes with a default installation even with FF2… i saw such a site before and beleive me there are MANY out there. As colourfulWorld said triple check before entering login details. (i once saw a phishing site paypalls.com or smth like that o_O easy to fool you)
Kitkat
July 3rd, 2008 at 4:40 pm
Steve Yu,
No need any plugin. It is a standard Firefox feature.
Haris,
You have not surfed any hanky panky websites, haha.
Atniz,
Yeah, I love Paypal too. It’s very easy to use.
Foong,
Let’s build some fake sites to con people eh? Hehe…
ColourfulWorld,
Wow, smart people like you also got conned! Need to be real careful.
stratosg,
Yes, you are correct. The phishing alert feature comes with Firefox 2 also. Oh, it isn’t pauballs.com? Hahaha
Steve Yu
July 3rd, 2008 at 5:44 pm
Ooops, sorry.
Abhinav Singh
July 9th, 2008 at 11:01 pm
Nice post, well I recieved an email yesterday itself asking me to update my card information as it has been deactivated and finally realized its a phishing site.
Read more and see the screen shots of the same here:
http://abhinavsingh.com/blog/2008/07/fake-email-from-paypal-cloned-sites/
Lucas
July 10th, 2008 at 12:43 am
LOL When i encountered this website through email i immediately knew what it was…there are links all over the page but u cant click on them but u can only click on the username and password. So what i did was i typed in f***you as my user and S***MYD*** as my password haha. Then it asked for my bank info and that it needed to be updated haha bullshnikey and i just kept putting in curseing words because of the people they have screwed. Ha i bet they were excited to c they had a new account till they read my info haha…i just thought that was humerous haha